Kolkata clinch IPL title

May 28, 2012
by Chandrachoodan Gopalakrishnan

Indian Premier League final, Chennai
Kolkata Knight Riders 192-5 (19.4 overs) beat Chennai Super Kings 190-3 (20 overs) by five wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders beat the defending champions Chennai Super Kings by five wickets in the Indian Premier League final in Chennai.

Batting first, Chennai looked to have posted a match winning total of 190-3 from their 20 overs. This was largely thanks to Suresh Rania (73), Mike Hussey (54), and Murali Vijay (42). Raina’s 73 came from just 38 balls as he accelerated the scoring rate towards the back end of the innings.

In reply Kolkata got off to the worst possible start when they lost their captain Gautum Gambhir in the first over for 2 when he was bowled by Ben Hilfenhaus.

However, a partnership of 136 from Manvinder Bisla (89) and Jaques Kallis (69) put Kolkata back in the box seat. Despite losing four quick wickets, Shakib Al Hasan (11*) and Manoj Tiwary (9*) ensured victory for the away side with just two balls to spare.

When Tiwary struck the winnings runs it sparked wild celebrations for the Kolkata players, staff and supporters.

The Scoop 28/05/12

Add a Comment