Ireland to face Scotland in UAE qualifiers

December 22, 2011
Abu Dhabi

by mofsound

The ICC have announced the qualification format for the World Twenty20, and Ireland have been drawn against neighbours Scotland.

The competition contains 16 hopeful teams that will battle it out for just two remaining spots in the main competition. The preliminary tournament will take place over 12 days in March in the United Arab Emirates.

The affiliate teams have been split up into two equal groups of 8. The winners of each group will meet in a final to decide who goes through automatically to the ICC world Twenty20. The team that loses this match will still have a chance to qualify, as they will play the best runner up after teams that finish second and third will compete for this place in a play-off format.

Group A is made up of Afghanistan, the Netherlands, Denmark, Nepal, Bermuda, and Papua New Guinea.

Ireland and Scotland are both in group B alongside Kenya, Namibia, Uganda, Oman, Italy and the United States.

The ICC World Twenty20 gets underway in September in 2012 in Sri Lanka and all competing affiliate teams will be desperate to get there. England are the current world champions in this form of the game after they beat Australia in the final in Barbados last year.

Chris Murtagh 22/12/2011

Add a Comment