Pietersen rested against India

August 26, 2011

by Ned Richards

England have left out star batsman Kevin Pietersen for their upcoming one-day series against India.

After scoring heavily in the Test series England have decided to give the Surrey bastman a rest although he remains in the squad for the T2O International against India at Old Trafford. The Twenty20 squad also includes Jos Buttler, and Alex Hales whilst Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes has been included in both squads. As expected, Jade Dernbach also features on both lists.

The one-day series kicks off at the Riverside on 3 September, preceded by the T20 game at Old Trafford on Wednesday which will be captained by Stuart Broad. The longer version of the one-day game will yet again be led by opening batsman Alastair Cook.

England one-day international squad to play India in the NatWest Series:

Alastair Cook (Essex, captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).

England Twenty20 squad to play India at Old Trafford on August 31:

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire, captain), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire).

Chris Murtagh 26/08/2011

Add a Comment