Australia win series

September 20, 2011

michael clarke

Australia have beaten Sri Lanka 1-0 in a three Test match series played in Sri Lanka.

It was Michael Clarke’s first series as captain of the Test team and will be delighted to get off to a winning start. The victory for the visitors means they retain the Warne-Muralitharan trophy.

Australia won the first Test match, and both the second, and third Test matches finished in draws. Sri Lanka went into the final day of the series today still with a chance of bowling Australia out and claiming victory in the final Test match. However, Clarke played a true captain’s knock hitting his first century in 18 months. He was well supported by Michael Hussey who made 93 to add to his first innings century.

The victory for Australia has moved them up to fourth in the ICC rankings. Sri Lanka now face Pakistan in a three Test match series in the UAE where they will be hoping to bounce back. Sri Lanka have now lost to both England and Australia this summer.

Chris Murtagh 20/09/2011

Add a Comment